Cancellation policy
Last updated: October 1, 2026
We want satisfied customers, not hostages. That’s why we make it easy for you to cancel your account directly in all of our apps — no phone calls required, no questions asked.
Account owners can follow these instructions to cancel in-app:
- Rift: if you have a monthly plan, go to "Account & Billing" and select "Cancel your subscription". You can keep using your monthly plan until the month you have paid for ends. You can close your account from "Account & Billing" at any time. When you cancel a monthly plan or close your account, we charge for any metered usage you have not yet paid for.
Our legal responsibility is to account owners, which means we cannot cancel an account at the request of anyone else. For a team organization, the owners are its admins, as our Ownership policy explains. If for whatever reason you no longer know who the account owner is, contact us. We will gladly reach out to any current account owners at the email addresses we have on file.
What happens when you cancel an account?
You won’t be able to access your account once you close it, so make sure you download everything you want to keep beforehand. If you cancel a monthly plan, you keep it until the month you have paid for ends, and your account stays open on pay-as-you-go.
We’ll permanently delete the content in your account from our servers 30 days after cancellation, and from our backups within 60 days. Retrieving content for a single account from a backup isn’t possible, so if you change your mind you’ll need to do it within the first 30 days after cancellation. Content can’t be recovered once it has been permanently deleted.
We won’t bill you again once you cancel, except for metered usage you have not yet paid for. We don’t automatically prorate any unused time you may have left but if you haven’t used your account in months or just started a new billing cycle, contact us for a fair refund. We’ll treat you right.
Fixed Point Labs-initiated cancellations
We may cancel accounts if they have been inactive for an extended period:
- For frozen accounts: 180 days after being frozen due to billing failures
- For accounts without a monthly plan: after 365 days with no metered usage, including storage
We also retain the right to suspend or terminate accounts for any reason at any time, as outlined in our Terms of Service. In practice, this generally means we will cancel your account without notice if we have evidence that you are using our products to engage in abusive behavior.
Adapted from the Basecamp open-source policies, licensed under CC BY 4.0. Our deepest gratitude to Basecamp for publishing their policies under an open license.